Aims & Scope

The Journal aims to provide a forum for the dissemination of high quality original researches and comprehensive reviews in the field of Rock Mechanics / Rock Engineering, and to enhance the technology by focusing on best practice. The Journal welcomes practical, relevant articles covering the broad range of interests within the field of Rock Mechanics / Rock Engineering. Topics include, but are not limited to, the following: theory, exploration, test, design, analysis, construction, risk management, environmental preservation, and monitoring, for the purpose of surface & underground works such as mines, slopes, tunnels, caverns, dams, bridges, energy facilities, HLW disposal, etc. Submitted manuscripts should have a high scientific or technological content, and should make a significant contribution to Rock Mechanics / Rock Engineering. At the very least, relevant references to possible sound application, of how the paper contributes to the better understanding of applications should be included in the articles. All original manuscripts are reviewed by at least two appropriate reviewers in the field of the submitted paper.

Editorial Organization

  Name Affiliation
Editor-in-chief Junichi KODAMA Hokkaido University
Responsible Director Hiroshi MORIOKA TEPCO
Editorial Advisory Board Derek ELSWORTH The Pennsylvania State University
Editorial Advisory Board Tsuyoshi ISHIDA Kyoto University
Editorial Advisory Board Katsuhiko KANEKO Professor Emeritus, Hokkaido University 
Editorial Advisory Board Hideki SHIMADA Kyusyu University
Editorial Advisory Board Chung-In LEE Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University 
Editorial Advisory Board Kikuo MATSUI Professor Emeritus, Kyusyu University
Editorial Advisory Board Yoshiaki MIZUTA Professor Emeritus, Yamaguchi University
Editorial Advisory Board Yuzo OHNISHI Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University
Editorial Advisory Board Shunsuke SAKURAI Professor Emeritus, Kobe University
Editorial Advisory Board Soichi TANAKA Fukada Geological Institute
Editorial Advisory Board Tsutomu YAMAGUCHI Toho University
Associate Editor
Masaji KATO Hokkaido University
Associate Editor (Secretary) Koji SASAOKA Kyushu University
Associate Editor Koji UENISHI The University of Tokyo
Associate Editor Tomofumi KOYAMA Kansai University
Associate Editor Yoshitaka NARA Kyoto University
Associate Editor Hideaki YASUHARA Ehime University
Associate Editor Makoto ISHIMARU CRIEPI
Associate Editor Teijiro SAITO Nishimatsu Construction
Associate Editor Toru TAKAHASHI Fukada Geological Institute